Servitude IV – What are the Benefits


As with any job or position of responsibility, one thing that many people look at is the benefits package.  What kind of medical plan do you offer?  Is it HMO or PPO?  Do you have a dental plan?  Is it 80/20 and does it cover major reconstruction?  Do you offer profit sharing or 401k matching?  How much time off can I earn based on years of service?  Well, there’s so much of this and even more when you start serving others thru Christ.

“His lord said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant; you were faithful over a few things, I will make you ruler over many things. Enter into the joy of your lord.'”
–Matthew 25:21 (New King James Version)

For starters, one of the benefits you will receive by serving others is many great responsibilities in the eyes of God.  Because you were faithful over a few things, I will make you ruler over manythings.  Man, sometimes when I think about that, it scares me a little.  Ruler over many things.  You mean to tell me that if I serve and do the few things here eventhough at times it seems overwhelming and I tend to get bogged down and I feel like I can’t do it anymore but I press on, God will make me ruler over many things.  Whew, that’s a lot of responsibility.  But what always brings me back to it is this, if God brings you to it, He will bring you through it.  So bring’em on!

I think though, even greater than this is that ultimately you’d be able to share in the master’s joy.  How cool would that be to be able to finally be face to face with your Lord and Master, and hear Him say those little words: “Well done, good and faithful servant”.  It gives me shivers just thinking about it.  I apologize here but I tend to get a little excited.  Just think back for a moment when you were a child and remember that first time or first few times when your mom or dad looked at you and smiled and said “good job, I knew you could do it”.  How’d that make you feel?  Well, for me personally, I can remember walking around like the rooster in the coop.  Chest all pumped out, feathers all ruffled, just strutting!  Smiling all day.  I think one thing that I tend to forget is this, no matter how old I may get, I will always be a child of God and a child in His eyes until the day I come face to face with him.  Man I want to hear those words from His lips.

I’ll leave you with this, the same quote we started with in the first post:

“…just as the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.” –Matthew 20:28

That’s how you hear those little words that will mean so much when the time comes, “Well done, good and faithful servant”, is to serve.
Forever Under Construction,
Chris

Leave a Reply

