Servitude III – No Experience Necessary


Ok, so let’s talk about this servitude thing, what does it take to serve others?  Do I need to have any sort of specialized experience, or any experience in a certain area that someone maybe looking for?  Well maybe, but more often than not, there’s no experience necessary to serve.  Quite possibly, my most favorite passage of all explains it like this:

“For by grace you have been saved through faith, and that not of yourselves; it is the gift of God”
Ephesians 2:8-9 (New King James Version)

That is the only experience needed to be able to serve. It took me a long time to realize this simple little thing. I always felt as if I had to work or do something good or be someone spectacular to receive this salvation.  How far from the truth was that thought. There’s simply nothing, nothing that you nor I can ever do to receive that salvation from God. He’s already given it to us. Well, let me qualify that just a bit, we simply have to reach out to receive it, it’s already been given, it’s sitting there waiting patiently for me. My salvation can only be accomplished by one thing and one thing only, Jesus’ death on the cross. He offered His sacrifice to me, to us, as a free gift.

There’s nothing for you to do, nothing you can do, no boasting, no bragging about look what I did so your neighbor knows, nothing! It simply comes by the “grace of God”. There are many different meanings that different people have put to this grace. What it means to me is this.  Regardless of all my imperfections, He loves me and will always love me for I am His. Now don’t get me wrong and please hear me on this, ultimately salvation makes a difference on how I live, but it’s not a criteria for receiving it. Pure and simple, it’s a gift. One of the greatest gifts that you or I will ever be able to receive as no matter what you do or how much money you make (I don’t care if you are almost as rich as Bill Gates) you can’t afford it. All you have to do is accept it and that’s all the experience you’ll ever need to be able to serve.

Forever Under Construction,
Chris

Leave a Reply

